Candidates qualify for March elections in Broward cities

It’s campaign season again for 11 cities in Broward County holding elections on March 12.

The qualifying deadline for most of those cities ended at noon Wednesday: Coconut Creek, Davie, Deerfield Beach, Hillsboro Beach, Miramar, Oakland Park, Parkland, Pompano Beach and Sunrise.

Plantation qualifying ended Jan. 4 and Sea Ranch Lakes candidates have until noon Jan. 15 to qualify for the three open council seats. Parkland and Sunrise are holding special elections to fill empty seats — two in Parkland and one in Sunrise.

Coconut Creek

Two of three elections were decided on Wednesday. Commissioners Mike Belvedere of District B and Lisa K. Aronson of District E were the only candidates to file in their races. Mayor Marilyn Gerber, who represents District C and is mayor because the title rotates, will not seek re-election after 17 years of serving on the commission. Four candidates qualified to replace her: Bruce A. Augello, Patricia Louise Duaybes, Walter W. Lyon Jr., and Sandra L. Welch.


Council members Caryl Hattan, Susan Starkey and Marlon Luis will be automatically re-elected to additional three-year terms after no one else qualified to run.

Deerfield Beach

One election in the city was settled Wednesday. Vice Mayor Bill Ganz, who represents District 4, had no challengers and will serve four more years.

Mayor Peggy Noland is challenged by Jean Robb, who served as mayor from 1980 to 1993 and has since tried unsuccessfully to take the seat back.

Three will vie for District 3 Commissioner Marty Popelsky’s seat, which he is vacating because of term limits. They are Donna Capobianco, who ran and lost four years ago; Caryl Berner, a former commissioner on the Deerfield Beach Housing Authority who was removed by a resolution of the city commission earlier this year because other DBHA members said she was inefficient and uncooperative; and Richard Rosenzweig, who is on the board of Century Village’s Democratic Party organization. 


Hillsboro Beach

The city’s three incumbents were unopposed and will be automatically re-elected to serve two more years: current Mayor Dan Dodge, Commissioner Claire Schubert and Commissioner Javier Garcia. The five commissioners will nominate a new mayor and vice mayor after the election.


Three commission seats are up for election. Commissioner Alexandra Davis will be automatically re-elected to Seat 1 for a four-year term. Incumbent Troy Samuels will face Yvette Colbourne for Seat 2 and incumbent Winston Barnes will face Alejandro Casas for Seat 3.

Oakland Park

The city will have at least two new commissioners in March. Mayor Anne Sallee is not seeking re-election and Commissioner Suzanne Boisvenue cannot run because of term limits. Commissioner Jed Shank was automatically re-elected when no one filed to run against him.

Two former mayors, Steven Arnst and Layne Dallet Walls, are seeking to return to the commission. Arnst will face Sara Guevrekian and Ruben Jean for Sallee’s seat. Walls will face Timothy T. Lonergan for Boisvenue’s seat.


Article source:,0,5278257.story?track=rss

This entry was posted in South Florida Real Estate News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *